Maternity fashion

18 weeks, 5 days

I’m still wearing a lot of my normal clothes, making them stretch wherever I can, even though I’ve been in maternity pants since about week 11. A lot of waistbands are uncomfortable and the bella band is not so fun- it feels like I’m being bound into something, which isn’t really great in the VA heat. Now that I’m back in an office, though, I can’t just wear baggy pants that I have to hold up when I walk. I can zip a lot of my skirts high over my belly, and most jersey dresses have plenty of stretch. It’s so much easier to find one dress that fits than a pair of pants with a stretchy enough waistband and a coordinating top that’s long enough to cover the stretchy part! I do have hand-me-down, garage sale, and thrift store maternity to keep me going – estimating how big I’ll get in the fall when the garage sales are done! If you know me at all you know that I hate repeating outfits, so I’m trying to remind myself that it’s okay having a more limited wardrobe now, and that I can stretch things with accessories to make them more fun, too.

18 weeks, 6 days

What’s funny to me, though, is how much the visibility of my bump changes depending on what I’m wearing. It’s not like I’m intentionally trying to hide it, but different clothes fit differently. That dress on the top got a comment about whether or not I’m having twins (that would surprise us all, because our ultrasound was pretty clear) and the cardigan in the bottom looks like I’m fooling no one in a muumuu. There are still people that I have to tell, though, or who are nice enough not to assume that I don’t just have some extra belly fat. As soon as I get any news my first instinct is to ask myself “what will I wear?”, so not being able to plan in advance what clothes will fit at what stage is making planning ahead tough, but it’s still kind of a fun creative challenge. I’ve read a lot of blogs with advice from other pregnant moms about “how to dress the bump”, but everyone’s growth and body shape seems to be completely different at different stages, and people have different work dress codes and comfort tolerances, so it’s fun to see how they’ve tackled the challenge but there are also things that we have to figure out for ourselves.

Standard

Leave a Reply

