Sleep Sack for the Win!

I totally thought we’d be pros in the swaddle by this point. And we did spend a lot of time at the hospital swaddling and double-swaddling. It didn’t take long once we got home, though, to realize that our little kicker was intent on getting out of the swaddle, which would make him cold enough to wake up. I kept looking down and seeing a fully swaddled baby with one leg sticking out. He wouldn’t go in the velcro swaddler (that I picked up at a garage sale) at all. Thankfully I had gotten this one at Target the week before he was born, and we use it every night (we got a second one as a gift so I don’t have to wash it everyday now). The night he slept the worst this week I had him in a sleeper instead, so I won’t make that mistake again. He usually wears a long sleeved onesie underneath and only needs a light blanket on top to be comfortable.

It’s funny – I always thought it was weird when people put their babies in pajamas to get ready for bed, because aren’t babies usually in pajamas all day anyway? Except now we have a night-time routine that involves dressing Will in his onesie and sleep sack for bed.

Then again, I also didn’t understand how moms had a hard time fitting a shower into their days – just put the baby down! But Will often falls asleep in my arms and wakes up as soon as I put him down and fusses until I pick him up again, so the rare naps when he sleeps on his own I have to debate if I’m going to nap or shower (and hope they don’t happen while we have visitors or are out running errands).

It figures, though – I’ve noticed a few times that anytime I judge people for the decisions they make or the situations they’re in (for the simple or the big things) I have to watch out or I end up in the exact same spot doing the exact same thing they did. Which you would think would make me less judgmental in the first place, but I’m still learning there.

Standard

One thought on “Sleep Sack for the Win!

  1. micahandheather says:

    I’m with you on the ‘being judgmental’ thing. I’d think, “Why do parents let their kids do that or act that way or…?” Now I find myself doing the same things.

Leave a Reply

