Will’s Food List

I get kind of discouraged sometimes by the toddler food fight that can easily happen – Will would gladly eat only fruit and bread if we let him. He’s usually hungry for dinner by the time I get home from work, so feeding him what we eat for dinner isn’t really an option, and pregnancy (me) plus a diet (Carl) has made our family food habits kind of weird anyway. I know he’ll get vegetables via pouches at any time, but I don’t like relying on them if I don’t have to (he probably still eats them 5x a week).  So I decided to write down all of the foods that he eats as a reminder that there is some good variety there, even if I did list each fruit individually. I should probably also mention that I have to hide the bananas now so he doesn’t cry over not getting to eat 2-3 a day, and every time we open the fridge he’s hoping it’s to get him more yogurt or cottage cheese. And as I posted on facebook, he’s had chicken nuggets and ate them just fine, but we’re not going there at home yet. We’re heading towards eating mostly whole foods at home, with the highest quality meat we can afford, so we generally aren’t eating that much meat as a family now.

  • frozen peas
  • sweet potato
  • rice & beans (chipotle, zatarans)
  • black beans, white beans, pinto beans
  • mac n cheese
  • lasagna
  • puffs (not that he’s had them recently)
  • cheerios
  • banana
  • peach
  • strawberry
  • pineapple
  • pear
  • apple
  • bread
  • yogurt (whole milk, plain)
  • pasta noodles
  • mashed potatoes
  • crackers
  • applesauce
  • frozen lima beans
  • fried egg
  • cottage cheese
  • kiwi
  • creamed spinach
  • frozen carrots/corn
  • grapes
  • blueberries
  • peanut butter toast
  • spicy rice

This spoon and fork set is working well for us – he likes that it’s metal so it makes the same sounds as ours do when he’s banging his bowl, and although his coordination is still lacking he can get down an entire cup of applesauce or yogurt with it (granted, he’ll be covered in it by the time he’s done).

Standard

One thought on “Will’s Food List

  1. Krista Rose (Bloomquist) says:

    Uh, I remember those days!!! My youngest could have lived off of string cheese and yogurt. That’s it. 🙂 I think it’s awesome you’re doing the whole foods lifestyle. I wish I would’ve been stronger with trying to do that, but it’s not easy! And unfortunately God gave me what my mom prayed for, a strong willed child like me that would rather starve than give in. Your list of what he does enjoy is impressive though! creamed spinach?! Wow!!!! I think you guys are doing great! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

